The promotion for Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens started in great style with the first official trailer, which showed the new cast members, some X-Wing Fighters and an awesome shot of the Millennium Falcon. It was enough to give Luke Skywalker himself a lump in his throat. However, unlike most J.J. Abrams movies, things are just getting started with the promotion and the revelation of some Star Wars Episode VII character names is next.

Now, Abrams has always been great at marketing, such as when he raised excitement for Cloverfield by just showing video without even telling people what they were watching was an upcoming movie. Now, he is playing with the fans when it comes to his new Star Wars movie. The teaser was perfect in that it didn’t show too much, was very exciting and left people wanting more.

The next bit of fun comes in the release of some photos of trading cards for Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens. While the cards themselves are just stills from the teaser, what makes them important is that they have the Star Wars Episode VII character names on them.

  • The Vacuum Cleaner Ball looking droid is called BB-8.
  • John Boyega, the hero of the new trilogy is Finn.
  • Daisy Ridley is Rey, and some believe that she might be Han Solo and Princess Leia’s daughter.
  • The Sith member is Kylo Ren, and some believe that might be Adam Driver’s character.
  • Oscar Isaac is Poe Dameron

There were also some other cards with a look at Stormtroopers preparing for battle, X-Wings in formation, and the Millennium Falcon. Each card was also numbered and J.J. Abrams said that the numbers are significant as well, although why they are important is unknown. Here are the numbers:

  • #11 — BB-8 on the move
  • #53 — Poe Dameron in his X-Wing
  • #67 — Kylo Ren ignites his Lightsaber
  • #74 — Rey on her Speeder
  • #76 — Finn on the run
  • #81 — Stormtroopers prepare for battle
  • #88 — X-Wings in formation
  • #96 — The Millennium Falcon

There have been a lot of complaints online that the Star Wars Episode VII character names are not cool enough, and don’t sound like “Star Wars names,” but honestly, if you hadn’t grown up with the classic names, would you think they were cool? Honestly, how cool was Chewbacca, Yoda, Leia Organa, Han Solo and R2D2 when those characters were unknowns in a new movie?

Anyway, Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens comes out on Dec. 18, 2015, so expect a lot more fun stuff in the future. For now, what do you think about the Star Wars Episode VII character names? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.