FX has ordered a 13-episode first season to Guillermo Del Toro’s The Strain, a vampire trilogy by Del Toro and Chuck Hogan. Production will start later this month in Toronto and the series will kick off in July 2014 on the network.

The Strain came out in 2009, the story of a vampire virus that begins to spread through New York after a Boeing 777 lands at the JFK airport and it is up to the character of Eph, the head of a New York City CDC unit, to figure out how to stop the contagion.

It was followed by two more novels, The Fall (2010) and The Night Eternal (2011).

“‘The Strain’ books are near and dear to my heart and now, Chuck and I have the blessing of a partnership with Carlton and FX that holds great promise,” said del Toro. “Working with FX has yielded an amazing experience with total creative freedom and support.”

Corey Stoll (House of Cards) has signed on to play Eph and The Strain TV series will be produced by Guillermo Del Toro, Chuck Hogan and writer-producer Carlton Cuse (Lost).

Also starring on the show is Mia Maestro (Alias), Sean Astin (Lord of the Rings), Kevin Durand (Lost), Natalie Brown (Being Human), Jonathan Hyde, Richard Sammel, Robert Maillet, Jack Kesy, Ben Hyland, and Miguel Gomez.

Source: Coming Soon