The 2015 deadCENTER Film Festival just announced their winners for this year’s competition. Here is their press release concerning the winners:

A documentary about the complicated legacy of Evel Knievel and a metaphysical drama about a children’s book author won top honors at the 15th Annual deadCENTER Film Festival, held June 10-14 in downtown Oklahoma City.

“Being Evel,” by Academy Award-winning director Daniel Junge was selected as Best Documentary Feature, and Best Narrative Feature was awarded to Director Oliver Thompson’s “Welcome to Happiness.”

A generation of Americans grew up worshipping self-styled hero Evel Knievel – watching him every Saturday on Wide World of Sports and buying his Ideal toys. For producer/subject Johnny Knoxville and so many others, he was the ultimate antidote to the disenchantment of the 70’s. But few knew the incredible and often complex aspects of his epic life, which, like his jumps, was sometimes glorious and sometimes disastrous. With an entire genre of sports ascending from his daring inventiveness, now is the time to look at this extreme man and his complicated legacy.

“Being Evel” producers include Johnny Knoxville, Jeff Tremaine, Mat Hoffman, Brendan Kiernan, Justin Moore-Lewy and Daniel Junge.

“Welcome to Happiness” is a metaphysical drama featuring Nick Offerman about a children’s book author who is the gatekeeper to a mysterious door in his closet that only allows certain people to enter. When he learns where the door leads, his life is forever changed.

Best Narrative Short honors went to “This Way Up” by Director Jeremy Cloe, and Christopher André Marks’ “Tiger Hood” won Best Documentary Short.

“Skid,” by Ryan “Staples” Scott, won for Best Oklahoma Feature, and “Course of Food,” directed by Christopher Hunt and produced by Chef Marc Dunham, was chosen as Best Oklahoma Short.

Yoko Okumura’s “Kimi Kabuki” was voted Best Student Film.

Special Jury honors went to “Best of Enemies” in the documentary category, and “The Overnight” for narrative.

2015 deadCENTER Film Festival Award Winners

  • Best Narrative Feature: “Welcome to Happiness”
  • Best Documentary Feature: “Being Evel”
  • Best Narrative Short: “This Way Up”
  • Best Documentary Short: “Tiger Hood”
  • Best Oklahoma Feature: “Skid”
  • Best Oklahoma Short: “Course of Food”
  • Best Student Film: “Kimi Kabuki”
  • Special Jury Documentary: “Best of Enemies”
  • Special Jury Narrative: “The Overnight”

The winners were selected by an independent panel of film industry professionals that includes respected directors, writers, producers and actors.

Judges include: Kat Candler, Michael Rossato-Bennett, Chuck Foxen, Gray Frederickson, Fritz Kiersch, Greg Mellott, Oklahoma Film Critics Circle, Hamad Altourah, Jeffrey Palmer, Victoria Sturtevant, Derek Watson, Anthony Foreman, Kyle Roberts, Clark Wiens, Annabell Grundy, and Bradley Beesley.